Whole wheat pizza crust

18 May

I made my very own whole wheat pizza crust the other day!  Pizza is probably one of my favorite foods of all time.  But seeing as I have PCOS and white flour is like my kryptonite I had to give it up.  😦  I then heard about pizzas with whole wheat crusts but sadly they are nowhere to be found here in this quaint country.  (So frustrating!)  So after much bitterness over everyone else eating pizza I decided to take matters into my own hands.

Here is my super, duper, ultra awesome, best ever whole wheat pizza crust recipe:

1 cup whole wheat flour (Not bread flour, just the regular stuff)
1 pkg fast rising yeast
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup very hot water
2 tsp maple syrup

Combine 3/4 cup flour, yeast and salt in a medium bowl; add hot water and maple syrup (you can use honey if you don’t have the syrup).  Stir with some type of spoon (I prefer wooden) until it becomes  thick and starts to form what looks like a dough (crazy huh?)  Use the remaining flour to sprinkle on your counter top and knead the dough until it’s smooth and elastic, about 2 – 5 mins. (Or until your attention span laps).  Roll it in a dough ball and place in a bowl, cover the bowl with a wet cloth/paper towel and let stand 15 mins before using. (This helps the dough to form and rise)

When time is up roll it out with a rolling-pin as thin as you can get.  Then drape the dough over both your fists and turn slightly to stretch it out.  Be careful to not break it while doing this, it may start to crack in the center where your fists are.  If this starts to happen it should be done and just place it down on your cooking pan (or your amazing pampered chef stone, if you’re lucky like me).  Top it with anything you wish! And bake for 15 – 20 min.   Voila…  Finito!

If you give it a try let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

