The invisible period

26 May

I have PCOS (Polycystic Overy Syndrom).  It’s health problem that affects everything from my menstrual cycle to my weight to my hair growth and beyond.  It is quite possibly the most annoying thing in existence (Ok so that comment is a completely selfish remark but I’m allowed that every now again).

This month the dreaded invisible period has decided to make an appearance (or lack of one depending on how you look at it.)  It’s not all it’s cracked up to be though.  You might think, “NO PERIOD!! WOO!”  But it’s not like that.  I still get the cramps only they’re spread out for about 5 days as opposed to 1 horribly excruciating day.  It also means I have PMS like you wouldn’t believe.  Watching to bumble bees getting it on reminds me of spring time and babies and I tear up.   It’s like having pregnancy hormones only without the added bonus of actually being pregnant.

The thing is IP hasn’t visited me for over a year.   My lovely normal period (up until last month)  loved to come calling every 35 days or so on average and we’d have a good chat for a day or so and then she’d be on her way.  I’m scared this mean nasty invisible one is back.

I try to justify why she’s back.  But there’s only one explanation  or well 224 of them.  So that is my main goal for losing weight at the moment.  To get my old friend back.

2 Responses to “The invisible period”

  1. the365dayhealthchallenge May 26, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    Hi, I found your blog on my tag surfer and as someone with PCOS I can relate with what you’re going through 😦

    Its not easy and very few people understand how big of an impact PCOS has on our lives.

    I just want to say good luck and I’ll be following your blog (oh and your no carb manacotti sounds awesome!)

    Take Care,

    Sara

    • thechubbygrl May 27, 2010 at 10:30 am #

      Sara thank you so much for your comment. It really is a kick in the ass most times. Keep me up to date with how you’re doing with yours.

Leave a Reply

