Why I don’t give blood

11 Jun

Everything is fine!  Phew wiz.   I got the call from the nurse this afternoon letting me know that my HcG levels on Wed were 800 and today there were 1800!!  That more than doubled so she’s very happy.  I was nervous this morning the nurse wouldn’t even be able to draw any blood for the friggin’ test.  My goodness I hate my veins.   Ever since I can remember nurses and doctors can NEVER find a vein in the first try.  I’m usually pricked upward to 4 times before the blood is finally flowing.   This time the nurse tried to go into the same vein that was pricked on Wednesday.  As if that wasn’t bad enough, when she couldn’t get it and tried another she went BACK to that one again claiming it was the only good one left so it had to work.  When she stuck that needle in for the third time in an already bruised and wounded part of my skin I couldn’t help but cry.  I’m not squeamish, I’m not afraid of needles and I generally have a good pain tolerance but that was just too much.  Suffice to say she didn’t get anything out of that vein and finally found the blood after cutting off the circulation to my arm to the point were my fingers were going numb.  And people wonder why I don’t give blood.

3 Responses to “Why I don’t give blood”

  1. Amy June 14, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    Ouch! I have teensy veins to… never fun to have blood drawn!
    How are you feeling otherwise? Any morning sickness?

  2. tenpounds June 12, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Owww. That sounds so sore. There’s got to be a better way to do that. But I’m glad to hear that your levels are so good!

  3. Ginger June 12, 2010 at 1:34 am #

    i think everyone has a needles story. how crazy that they keep poking. ugh

Leave a Reply

