Period cramps during pregnancy

13 Jun

I thought the joys of getting pregnant came with the added bonus of no more period like symptoms.   No more pads, no more tampons and more importantly (for me at least) no more cramps.  Alas, one thing all those doting mothers never tell you is that you can still HAVE those period pains.   So I am in what I think is my 5th or 6th week (hopefully this will be resolved when I get my ultrasound next week) and I have been having period like cramps for about 3 weeks now.  The cramps were the whole reason I went to the doctors in the first place.

I’ve been reading online (as well all do I’m sure when we have a headache and are convinced it’s a brain tumor) though that period like cramps are perfectly normal.  Especially for first time mothers as everything in there is stretching and expanding.  Most of the mothers are saying they just put up with it and that most of their doctors said to take some meds and get over it.

I’m just having a hard time deciding to what level should I deal with the pain.  Is it acceptable to push through the cramps and just get on.  Or should I be listening to my body and sit down.  I would like to say I should just listen to my body but with a job that has me on my feet 8 hours a day that’s exactly the easiest thing to do.  Today I actually had to close the shop early seeing as I was the only manager on duty and was so afraid that I was putting too much strain on myself.   Of course now though I wonder if I should have just put up with it.

4 Responses to “Period cramps during pregnancy”

  1. Ginger June 15, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    i dont want to sound harsh but having four babes of my own i just want to say pain is going to be a regular occurrence. but if you work through it, it will be more bearable. you can do it. hope you get to feeling better

    • thechubbygrl June 15, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

      Ginger that’s not harsh at all I think I just need to hear it’s ok to have that pain and the pressure. It’s just so weird when so much pressure is building up and the pain starts you start to wonder if somethings falling out and it’s not even that big yet! haha
      Wow you’ve had 4 of these?! I know who I’ll be going to for advice 🙂

  2. Amanda June 14, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    Cramping is really normal and for the most part it is okay to push through it as long as your doctor has confirmed that it’s normal pains. The first 12 weeks can be a lot of fun. 😉 It’ll go by fast, though. You’ll be through it before you know it.

    • thechubbygrl June 14, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

      Thanks Amanda. There’s a part of me that wished my doctor would tell me I need to stay off my feet as it’s really uncomforatble. But I suppose I need to just suck it up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

