Today is my birthday!

19 Jun

“They say it’s your birthday
We’re gonna have a good time
I’m glad it’s your birthday
Happy birthday to you.”

Why the random song Oh chubbygrl I hear you ask?  Well in case the song was too subtle… It’s my birthday!! I’ll have to now change my ‘about me’ info to ‘I’m just your average 26-year-old girl.”  🙂

The morning of my birthday was spent riding in the back of dark work van (the kind with no windows) with a fellow pregnant friend.  Well truth be told I didn’t know her that well before hand, but I think we’ve crossed that boundary.   For my birthday dinner Mr.notsoChubby took me to a Carvery.

Wiki says:

carvery is a restaurant where cooked meat is freshly sliced to order for customers. The meat is usually accompanied by a choice of potatoes (generally at least boiled, mashed and roasted) and other vegetables (commonly including carrots, parsnips, peas and other traditional British vegetables), with gravy and a sauce considered a traditional accompaniment to the various meats (for example, mint sauce to accompany roast lamb, apple sauce to accompany roast pork and so on).

It costs us only £3.50 for a meal and it’s my favourite thing of all time.  I’m a cheap date! hahaha.  The great thing about the food is that it’s relatively good for me.  With all the vegetables it’s really high in nutrients and fibre.  The meat is all fresh and I just cut off the fat.  The gravy is probably incredibly high in sodium but I just make sure to drink lots of water.   The potatoes?… well there are some things that I just can’t help myself.

4 Responses to “Today is my birthday!”

  1. Amanda June 21, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    Happy (late!) birthday! 🙂 It sounds like it was a nice one.

  2. Julie June 21, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    Yummy! I hope you had a wonderful birthday! 🙂

  3. Ginger June 20, 2010 at 4:16 am #

    happy birthday missy!!! glad you were able to get out and have some fun with the mr 🙂

  4. Chinky June 19, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    That food looks awesome. I have to find a carvery around here… Happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

