Britians don’t understand the 4th of July

3 Jul

I was at work yesterday telling the girls I work with how excited I am that I get the 4th of July off.  They looked at me a bit odd like and asked why.  Why?!  WHY?!  Because it’s my independence day that’s why!  Why do Americans get such a hard rap for being ignorant on other countries histories and cultures and yet these girls are standing in front of me not even knowing one of the greatest holidays on American Soil! *sigh*

That amongst many other reason is why I can’t wait to get back to America.

4 Responses to “Britians don’t understand the 4th of July”

  1. tenpounds July 4, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    Don’t feel too badly. You’re living somewhere that would like to be independent of England too, so they’re just jealous and blocking it all out. Have a fab day. It’s raining over here – hope the sun is shining on you, though.

    • thechubbygrl July 4, 2010 at 10:45 am #

      Haha… The sun shining on Scotland? Only if hell freezes over 😛

  2. misssarahlou July 4, 2010 at 2:43 am #

    I apologize on behalf of these girls who do not understand your holiday… its perhaps because in England for example people are more likely to celebrate St Patricks Day than St Georges day. Not everyone understands eachothers cultures as well as they should but it doesnt diminish the importance of the holiday to those who care.

    Enjoy your 4th July celebrations from and English aka British girlie :o)

    • thechubbygrl July 4, 2010 at 10:47 am #

      Thanks Miss Sarah. 🙂 You know regarding St. Patrick’s day, I was so excited to be over here, closer to the actual country the day is based off of. I was so sure I could find some amazing party to celebrate it. Instead I learned Americans celebrate it more than British people. hahaha. Though I do intend to hop over to Ireland one day during St. Paddy’s day.

Leave a Reply

