Health MOT score

25 Jul

So I went to the gym to finally get my “MOT”.  In the UK an MOT stands for a test your car goes through to make sure it’s road worthy.  So in other words it’s a test to see how health worthy my body is.  So let’s just dive right in shall we?

  • Height: 116cm / 5ft 3in
  • Weight: 102kg / 224lbs
  • BMI: 39.4 = very obese
  • Waist to Hip ratio: 0.96 = very high risk
  • Blood Pressure: 122/78 = normal level
  • Aerobic Fitness: 32 = fair
  • Resting Heart Rate: 71bpm = normal level
  • Cholesterol: 4.7 mmol/L = good level
  • Blood Glucose: 4.5 mmol/L (or 81) = good level
  • Health MOT Score: 62 =  top 80% – the lower the better

The Good

When my blood pressure was taken he was very surprised at how good it was.  Always a good thing.  My resting heart rate was at a good level but I remember once it being at 68, though I’m told pregnancy will increase that.  My cholesterol is at a good level as well but there is definite room for improvement.   They told me anything below 5.0 is good but as you can see 4.7 is close to that 5.0.

The Bad

I think it’s safe to say my BMI is obviously off the charts.  So really there was no surprises there.  I’m just happy it’s not over 40.  My waist to hip ratio is obviously effected because I’m pregnant.  I’m sad my actual score isn’t any better but it could be worse, I could be in the top 90% but my goal is to be somewhere closer to the top 10%.

The Surprising

I was surprised my fitness level was fair as was the guy giving me the test, haha.  Apparently with a girl who has as high a BMI as mine it isn’t normal to have a decent fitness level. woo! 🙂  I was also surprised my glucose level was normal seeing as I have PCOS.  I’d be interested to know though if that is because I’m pregnant or not.

Leave a Reply

