Cauliflower instead of Potatoes?

3 Aug

Are you a fan of Potatoes especially of the mashed variety?  They can be the best side dish to yummy breast of chicken or a strip of steak.  But all the Butter, Milk and Carbs (OH MY!)  in those deliciously creamy mash can cause the dieter in us to feel the guilt later on.  Introducing…. Mashed Cauliflower!!  It’s got the same color, you mash it like potatoes, and you add the same ingredients.  So automatically it’smashed potatoes only healthier right?

NOT!!  Whoever tried to sell me this shit lie is about to get cauliflower shoved up their vegetable loving ass (and I DON’T intend to steam it first).  Incase you’re not getting my point, mashed cauliflower is not the same as mashed potatoes.  Let’s call a spade a spade here ok? Mashed cauliflower is cauliflower that has been mashed.  So it still TASTES like cauliflower. It is not, and will never be a substitute for the real thing.

I’m not saying the mashed form of this white vegetable is disgusting by any means.  If anything it’s a decent side dish if you’re sick of the same boring steamed beans and brocoli.  But it’s not the creamy, lusciousness that is mashed potatoes.  And I don’t intend to feel the guilt of eating the potatoes on the occasion that I do.   Potatoes get a bad wrap because of all these tooty fruity people and their low-carb diets.  But if you eat them in moderation and you keep the skin on (my favourite type of mashed potatoes have the skin on them, yum! yum!) they’re a great source of minerals, vitamins and fibre.  Now I’m off to make me some. 🙂

4 Responses to “Cauliflower instead of Potatoes?”

  1. Amy August 5, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    I love cauliflower both mashed and riced. I like cooking the cauliflower rice like chinese rice is cooked. It’s very yummy!

  2. Chinky August 4, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    I gotta say, mashed cauliflower sounds pretty disgusting to me. Raw cauliflower is amazing though. And think of it this way: potatoes are so much better than refined carbs!

  3. Michelle August 3, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    Thank you for dispelling that lie! It’s not even close to the same thing! Your post made me laugh. 🙂

  4. Ginger August 3, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    this made me chuckle. i love potatoes and i love cauliflower but i would never substitute one for the other. especially after reading your post lol

Leave a Reply

