UTI while pregnant

10 Sep

So after seeing the stupidest GP (That’s a general practitioner for the US clan) on Monday and having him tell me, in what I think may have been English but honestly couldn’t tell due to his accent, that I was fine and to just go home.  I decided to call them back and book an appointment with my GP.  I’m glad I did as the minute I walked in she knew there was something wrong with me.  Checked out my abdomen, took some good ‘ol pee from me and concluded I have a UTI (Urinary Tract Infection).  This was something I hadn’t even considered I had because I had non of that burning pee you always hear about nor did I have the feeling that I always had to go without actually going.   She helped me to see though that UTI’s mask themselves in different ways for pregnant women but that it can be very dangerous.

She seemed only mildly worried that my symptoms were further in my belly and crampy.  Something to do with a possible kidney infection, which when I looked up freaked the crap out of me.  So hopefully I DO NOT have that.  I told her how on Friday night of last week I felt feverish, nauseous and I had cramps so bad they were making me double over in pain.  I assumed I just ate something bad but she told me if that happens again to call the emergency triage asap.  We think it was more my kidney’s acting up.  Oops?

I suppose sometimes it is just better to listen to your body.  As that’s me off for another few days from work while the antibiotics kick in.

One Response to “UTI while pregnant”

  1. Ginger September 11, 2010 at 3:09 am #

    it never hurts to get a second opinion. glad it wasnt anything too serious. but any pain is no fun!!

Leave a Reply

