I want to keep my placenta

22 Nov

Never in a million years did I think I would a med free birth. Never in a million years did I think I would home birth. And yet I now after loads of research and training intend to do both. So I suppose it should come to no shock that after weeks of people asking me what I’m doing with my placenta and me telling them throwing it away… duh. I have come to the conclusion that I am now going to keep it. That’s right ladies and gentleman I am becoming a hippie. hahaha.

I don’t intend to hug the placenta or eat it in any way, sick. I read about a way of drying the placenta out and then encapsulating it to make Placenta Pills! Apparently they’re amazing in helping with the baby blues and getting your energy up after birth. They’re even more beneficial if you’ve lost a lot of blood after birth as it helps to replenish it. In addition to all of those benefits it’s also amazing at producing more milk for your baby. Some women have to take supplement pills to help their lactation along but with these super awesome pills they can do it naturally!

This is the recipe I intend to try.

Cut off the cord and membranes.

Steam the placenta, adding lemon grass, pepper and ginger to the steaming water. The placenta is “done” when no blood comes out when you pierce it with a fork.

Cut the placenta into thin slices (like making jerky) and bake in a low-heat oven (200-250 degrees F), until it is dry and crumbly (several hours).

Crush the placenta into a powder – using a food processor, blender, mortar and pestle, or by putting it in a bag and grinding it with rocks.

Put the powder into empty gel caps (available at drug and health food stores) or just add a spoonful to your cereal, blender drink, etc.

The recommended doses very, some suggest up to 4 capsules a day, others just one. Perhaps the best advice is to take what makes you feel good

Because I’m still completely squeamish about the whole thing I’ve asked Mr.notsoChubby if he’s ok with doing the steaming and cutting part. I just don’t think I could do that to my own placenta. *shudders* But I’ll help with the baking and pounding into a powder. A group effort!

One Response to “I want to keep my placenta”

  1. Ginger December 5, 2010 at 1:33 am #

    my sister inlaw made her placenta into pills and said it did wonders!! i love the name phoebe, so fun!!

Leave a Reply

