A cesarean is major surgery

4 Apr

I went to see the nurse the other day for my six week check and told her I was still sore and still a bit exhausted even though I feel I’m getting enough sleep. I was really frustrated that I couldn’t do something as simple as laundry and cooking without being in pain and feeling like I just ran a marathon. Anyways she told me something that really put into perspective for me. Having a section, especially one where a transfusion is needed, is a lot like a hysterectomy. Most women who have a hysterectomy are off for a good three months. Yet those who have sections see it as so routine they forget they just had major surgery! We’re expected to not only watch after a new baby but most of us have other kids and a house to run. And most of us are expecting to do that in a few weeks after!

My point is take it easy. Super easy. And don’t expect much from yourself until around week 12. Do what you can and on your good days do more just don’t have any expectation on yourself so that you can’t fail those expectations. This has been huge for me to hear personally. I’ve now taken a step back and am concentrating on me and baby first before anything else. Sometimes all I have energy for is laying in bed with her. And you know what, that’s ok.

Leave a Reply

