Elimination Diet

25 Oct

My sister is sadly in the middle of a relapse with her Multiple Sclerosis.  Thankfully it hasn’t gotten to a point where she can’t use any of her limbs but it was enough for both of us to sit up straighter and question our diets.   Since I’m staying with her for 3 weeks (1 of those has already passed)  We decided to to the 30 day Auto Immune Protocol, or better known as an elimination diet.   My mother is Coeliac and as that’s another autoimmune disease I find myself between a rock and a hard place.  I don’t want to wind up like either of these great women.

Day one has gone a bit harder than I thought it would be.  I’ve managed to completely cut gluten out of the diet for months now without so much as a sweat.  Ok maybe a little with the pizza comes around, lol.  But otherwise I am free of it and mostly of corn and soft dairy.  As of late, since I’m with my family and all that I haven’t been as good as I’d like to.  Which I think may easily be the cause why today I was tempted to eat a whole tub of butter.

What I ate:

Pear for breakfast, hot dogs with broccoli, carrots and cauliflower for lunch.  And fish with the same veggie for dinner.  My sweet tooth (which really wanted a milkshake!)  Was suppressed with a simple glass of apple juice.  🙂

How I feel:

Honestly I feel like shit.  My stomach starting really cramping up after dinner and I have to run and go poo quite regularly.   Is this my body flushing itself out?  Or perhaps my body doesn’t like broccoli and I should look to eliminate that as well?  This is when I get confused.

 

My sister’s off to the store to get us some more foods for the week.  It wasn’t exactly the smarted thing to start a diet in which you can’t eat anything in your house!

Leave a Reply

